Random Recipe: Summer Pasta

I’m a vegetarian. And I’ve learned that many restaurant chefs struggle to make vegetarian fare taste good (like sandwiches with enormous slices of not-so-flavorful veggies, such as squash).

As a result, some of the best veggie food I’ve had was prepared at home by me or my husband. It takes some nerve, creativity, experimentation…and take-out menus on hand when a new recipe fails. But any recipe I post here is fairly fail-safe, I promise.

Random Recipe #1: Summer Pasta, courtesy of friend Dora’s mom, tweaked by me.

Ingredients:

  • pasta of choice, angel hair or spaghetti works fine, using 1/2 to 3/4 of the package contents
  • 4 plump ripe summer tomatoes
  • lots of fresh basil (a hearty bunch, proud to say I grow my own)
  • 1 cup good quality parmesean cheese
  • 2 large lemons
  • olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

How to: De-stem basil and chop leaves, you’ll need about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of basil, depending on how much basil flavor you like. Place in large bowl, and add juice of two lemons, about 2 tb of olive oil, and 1/2 cup or so parmesean and stir again. Season with desired amount of salt and pepper. Set aside so flavors can mingle awhile.

Bring a large pot of water to boil. Dunk one tomato in and leave in there for 30 or so seconds (a process called blanching). Remove with tongs, and put tomato under cold water. Peel skin off tomato. Repeat for all tomatoes. Set aside. Then, using the boiling water, cook pasta to desired doneness (I prefer my noodles al dente). While doing this, slice tomatoes, discarding seedy portions. Cut tomatoes to desired size, and mix tomatoes in with cheese/lemon mixture and stir really well. Then add the pasta and add increasing amounts of olive oil, parmesean and salt and paper until taste suits your preference. Serve w/ Italian or French bread to sop up juice. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Random Recipe: Summer Pasta

  1. Erik Victory says:

    Hey Joy, I really like your blog! I’ve been a vegetarian for four months now and have been pretty open to new kinds of veggie dishes (thankfully there’s plenty of choices in Austin), so this is pretty cool.
    Anyways, life has been pretty…crazy (though getting better), but I’ll give you a call sometime in the near future.

  2. Dora says:

    MMMmmmmm….this is my absolute all-time favorite dish of mom’s. This is also a great dish for large parties. Sopping up the juices with french bread when you are finished is my favorite part of the meal. Best peasant food EVER.

Leave a Reply

