Channeling Augustus Gloop

A co-worker recently attended the New York “Chocolate Show,” which was really just a press event meant to garner publicity for chocolate companies. (More cocoa-kookiness here.)

As a result, the chocolate companies keep shipping her a daily stream of chocolate goodies that, if melted, would easily match the quanity of Willy Wonka’s chocolate river.

Each work meeting lately begins with her saying “Yes, I have more.”

And we all squeal and dig in. What better way to start a meeting? But, then, minutes later, the regret hits.

Today it was Belgium milk chocolate with hazelnuts. I ate half of a bar, then asked a co-worker to eat some, and when he refused, I threw it into his trash bin.

That is the only way I could avoid eating the other half.

Like most of my favorite foods, chocolate is native to Mexico, derived from the cocoa seeds of the cacao plant.
CocoaBean

3 thoughts on “Channeling Augustus Gloop

  1. Dora says:

    I’m currently preparing myself for the massive influx of chocolate, candy and flavored popcorn that our clients shower on us every year. Most of it ends up on my desk because apparently the Director of First Impressions is nothing at x-mas/chanukah time without treats to offer. *sigh* It’s already started. So far this week I’ve had caramel filled chocolates and cashew turtle patties on my desk. Oy.

Leave a Reply

