Characters on the Train: Snap, Crackle, Pop

If there’s one thing I don’t like, it’s teenagers.

Which is why, during my ride home yesterday afternoon, I ignored a strange sound on the subway. I had my iPod on, and was listening to music, but kept hearing a “snap…snap…snap” sound to my right.

I assumed it was the typical explanation: A group of teenagers being intentionally annoying on the train so as to garner negative attention from fellow train riders.

But, as the noise continued, I finally turned around and looked.

And in the corner of the train sat a small, normal-looking woman holding a sheet of Bubble wrap that dragged down to the floor. She was staring into space, absent-mindedly — or so it appeared — pressing each Bubble in a set fashion: Snap…snap…snap…snap. She didn’t care about the other train riders, who like me, had now started to turn around and openly watch her, waiting for her to stop.

The train stopped at 42nd Street, and I got out. So did she. And she followed me up the stairs, popping away. Thankfully she went off in another direction.

I quickly grabbed my notebook and scribbled: “Women obsessively snapping Bubble wrap on the train @ rush hour.”

3 thoughts on “Characters on the Train: Snap, Crackle, Pop

  1. mmalan says:

    Mmmmmm, bubble wrap. One of my favorite sounds… (Though it loses much of its charm when someone else is doing the popping.)

  2. DKN says:

    God that is weird…it almost makes me wonder if she had a hidden camera on her capturing people’s annoyed reactions or something. *Cut to Joy reaching into her purse for something sharp on the subway stairs*

    I can’t stand people who are continuously unaware of their surroundings. And I happen to run into these people on the subway more than anywhere else…or I’ll happen to be living with one of them, LOL (oh – not you, John).

Leave a Reply

