Songs That Make Me Swoon

I am a bit of an iPod junkie, and I mostly just listen to it on the shuffle setting all day.

Right now, as I was in the middle of editing an article on obesity, Lenny Kravitz’s “Again” came on. Immediately, I became flustered and lost all sense of what I was editing. This song will always have that effect on me (and the memories of the terrific music video for this song. Go Lenny!)

There are probably about two dozen songs that make me literally swoon (whatever that means!). “Jesus, Etc.” by Wilco makes me pine for a live Wilco concert, where Jeff Tweedy is all hoarse and yearning and earnest, and “Cowboy Take Me Away” by the Dixie Chicks makes me miss roadtrips and the long, dry highways of Texas. “When the Stars Go Blue” by Ryan Adams makes me want to country waltz with my huzzband.

But my all-time favorite swoon-inducing song is “Wild Horses” by the Rolling Stones. It just makes me think dizz-am.

Know what I mean?

8 thoughts on “Songs That Make Me Swoon

  1. joynmsu says:

    Eh, not so much. More of a nice daydream. But he can Texas two-step like a ranch hand!

    (and you should see the intense look of concentration while he does it!)

  2. joynmsu says:

    Any husband of mine better know how to two-step.

    But seriously, I taught him two-stepping in my garage back in Corpus, which had a smooth concrete floor so we could glide (and many, many mosquitoes, of course). And then we went kicker dancing at a country bar called Roper’s. I even requested the DJ play “Amarillo by Morning” by George Strait, which is, incidentally, another song that makes me swoon.

  3. dregina says:

    All of Me – the Willie Nelson version – might be my ultimate swoonable song. Also Leonard Cohen’s song Suzanne, and The Fugees cover of No Woman No Cry……

  4. Suzanne says:

    I understand how I might make you swoon, Dana.

    Speaking of Brendan dancing, did we ever tell you about dancing to James Brown while in Thailand? I believe it was a couple twenty-something gin and tonics into the evening, surrounded by some Qatar army guys. I will never, ever forget just how white Brendan looked while gettin down to a little James Brown…

  5. joynmsu says:

    No, somehow that never came up. 🙂

    But I am realizing that Brendan dancing is a far more interesting topic than me blathering about romantic songs.

    It’s like the pileated woodpecker at the cabin: a rare sight to behold, but utterly thrilling.

Leave a Reply

