Skinned Baby Lambs Piled in a Shopping Cart

Now that’s a headline for you, huh? Good morning!

But it was my reality this morning as I walked to the subway, and passed the Greek butcher. Each morning, in their display window, they proudly hang their latest shipment of skinned whole lambs, which are suspended by their hooves from the ceiling, and hover over various other cuts of meat. (Their eyes, if you’re wondering, are intact, and look dark blue, the same shade as mine. *Bad shiver*)

This morning, however, in preparation for tomorrow’s Greek Orthodox Easter, which is basically just a big party and gluttonous eating fest, the butcher was carting out dozens of skinned lambs in shopping carts, and then tossing them into a van, the back end of which was a scene of little lamb carnage.

I nearly lost my stomach contents, and I know I must have had the most horrified look on my face, but hey, I moved to New York for the culture, carcasses and all, right?

The good news is that 1) it didn’t smell and 2) tomorrow night, the streets of Astoria will be a big party, and that will be tons o’ fun. And, by then, the little lambs will be cooked, and resting in the stomachs of the Greeks, far from my judgemental vegetarian eyesight.

7 thoughts on “Skinned Baby Lambs Piled in a Shopping Cart

  1. mmalan says:

    Reminds me of Suz’s run-in with the cabritos in Mexico. Never has a family of four run so quickly BACK across the bridge to Texas.

  2. joynmsu says:

    Oh, this was far far worse. At least the cabrito are cooked, or cooking. These were raw and bloody.

    (I type this with a roll of sushi next to me. Ah, ever the hypocrite.)

  3. DKN says:

    Speaking of Greeks, tomorrow night after our peep eating contest we could attend Jesus’ resurrection on 33rd street between Ditmars and 23rd Ave, if you want. Tonight is his funeral, which is cool, they march around the church. But tomorrow they resurrect him and then set off fireworks. I can’t wait!

  4. musicchick2 says:

    YIKES! I would have seriously gagged, I know I would. I don’t eat anything anymore that walked on 4 legs, so I’m really glad it wasn’t ME who walked by that butcher shop. *shudders*

  5. fishyflesh says:

    Just remember this: Little lambs eat ivy, kids ‘ill eat ivy too, wouldn’t you?

    Ah, maybe it’s a little outdated song you haven’t encountered as a kid.

    I wonder if lambs gag on ivy as you don on dead lambs.

    This is going on to long…

  6. joynmsu says:

    Hmm. Yes, I didn’t know the song, so Brendan looked it up for me. Now it makes sense.

    My childhood toy was a little stuffed lamb, which I carried everywhere, and so seeing the real thing, skinned, is a bit much.

Leave a Reply

