Yikes. I’m Turning into a Sci-Fi Geek

ToyRobot

It first began when Brendan and I had been living together for a few months. We were flopped on our couch, flipping through channels, when he stopped on an episode of Star Trek: Next Generation.

I looked at him, then at the TV, and then back at him.

“Whaaaaat?”*** he whined, a natural response if your spouse is staring at you.

“What’s this?” I asked, nodding to the TV, watching people in bad alien makeup parading around what was clearly a L.A. sound stage meant to look like a faraway planet. “You’ve got to be kidding.”

“It’s awesome, really. Don’t you know about the Star Trek drinking game?”

Drinking games were something I did in high school (yes, sorry, Mom and Dad) and college with decidedly non-geeky people: Popular kids and athletes and underachievers who had shaggy hair and said “dude” a lot.

I took this to mean that, perhaps, Star Trek wasn’t as nerdy as I thought.

“OK, I’ll bite. What’s the drinking game?”

“Every time they say a made-up word, take a sip.”

So I tried it, and eventually had to stop playing the drinking game, because about 30 percent of the script is laced with words like “Cardassian,” “holodeck,” and “dilithium.”

But, I kept watching. I was totally entranced by the plot line. Seizing this opportunity, Brendan started ordering Next Generation on Netflix. I quickly became a fan of Captain Jean-Luc Picard. The ultimate man’s man.

Next to arrive was Battlestar Galactica. It’s currently playing on the Sci-Fi channel, and, I must proudly note, has gotten rave reviews (“arguably the most potent, dramatically vibrant series on television”).

We don’t watch it on TV, though, we order it on Netflix, watch four episodes, usually all at once, on Friday nights. That’s right: nerd-style.

The show is about as sci-fi as sci-fi gets, with intense battle scenes between humans and the robot race they created. But the robots have souls, throwing everyone for a loop. And the special effects and the struggle for survival are the hooks. Plus, who doesn’t love watching Edward James Olmos? Or him?

So, this past weekend, we were chilling at our friend Dora’s apartment. Our other friend, Brenda, was there, too. Brenda is a BIG sci-fi fanatic, even going to conventions. Yet, I have to admit, she’s also really cool, funny, and a great storyteller — decidedly non-geeky, even if she goes to singalongs of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. (Dora, does too, by the way. )

We got on the subject of our absurdly passionate love of Battlestar when I mentioned how bad-ass it was that Ensign Ro Laren of Star Trek was now guest starring as a ship’s captain on Battlestar. Dora, who is not as geeked out as the rest of us (but has her moments), asked who Ensign Ro was.

“She was what’s known as a Cardassian,” I said.

“BAJORAN!” Brenda and Brendan both shouted at me, correcting me as quickly as possible, that Ensign Ro was, in fact, of the Bajoran race.

Then we all started laughing. Man, we’re nerds, we were all thinking. Now we need to do is start learning Klingon, and our assimilation will be complete.

***All dialogue made up after this point, although author tried to re-enact scenes as real as possible. Her memory is poor.

Photo courtesy dogmadic/Stock.xchng

3 thoughts on “Yikes. I’m Turning into a Sci-Fi Geek

  1. DKN says:

    Oh, that was such a fun night! I actually commented to Adam and Connie the next day that I thought that you two were now official sci-fi geeks 🙂 Anyone that can hold their own in a geeked out convo with Brenda and Merril are SO in deep.

    Now if I could only get you to take Buffy a little more seriously…I mean if you can handle the whole space and futuristic aspects then what’s not to love about a few vampires and demons? More importantly vampires and demons associated smartly with actual Western myth and folklore! Brilliant stuff. Librarians and academics agree:

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=1262180

  2. emily says:

    Hey, when I was Muuuuuuuuuccccccchhhhhhh younger I watched the original Battlestar Galactica and Buck Rogers. I have seen the movie Stargate about a million times. Sci-Fi is cool.

  3. Brenda "SciFi" Nerd says:

    Thanks for the shout out home girl! That was an awesome night and an even better moment in geek-dom! It is true that at that moment, I silently said “At last! More converts!!” I LOVE getting people who are not into “science fiction”, head over heels in love with a show or movie!
    I would also like to say that your friend Emily must be around my age because I too was raised on late 70’s-early 80’s “sci-fi” that came on right after Saturday Morning Cartoons. This was way back when there was such a thing but when cartoons were over around noon, Battlestar Galatctica and/or Buck Rogers would come on. (If you stuck around after those, Solid Gold came on and you knew for sure it was time to go outside and play!) Anyway, you, Brendan and Merril and I should hang out sometime and do some geek-speak! Welcome to our world! Say it with me kids: ONE OF US! ONE OF US!! 😉

Leave a Reply

