Shoes Sent From Heaven

Since moving to New York City four years ago, I’ve been on a long, frustrating quest to find shoes that are both cute and comfortable.

And by comfortable, I specifically mean no blisters after walking my normal commute distance, which is about two miles. Yeah, exactly: Very few shoes are comfortable after two miles of walking. And even fewer comfortable shoes are also cute.

But I did it! I did it! I found comfortable, cute shoes! With high heels! I stumbled across these puppies at Loehmann’s a couple of weeks ago.

Awesome Shoes

The trick is flexibility — the sole is made of a flexible, soft plastic, the instep is heavily padded, and the straps have elastic in them so they stretch with every step.

Sadly, the brand is somewhat obscure: Vertan, from Italy.

There’s nothing quite like emerging from my office in these shoes, into the warm New York summer evening weather, with Justin Timberlake streaming into my iPod. I stride like a supermodel all the way to the subway.

19 thoughts on “Shoes Sent From Heaven

  1. Deb says:

    I have to tell you that this is amazing. I just sat down on my laptop to google vertan because I have the same shoe you are wearing, bought it about 3 years ago, cannot part with them and was hoping to find them online and when I went to your blog and saw the shoes, I absolutely could not believe it. How ironic. I am going to Nordstrom hoping they still have them. I am on my feet all day long and have never had a more comfortable pair of shoes.

  2. Cathy says:

    Hi,
    I was just at DSW yesterday, which is a shoe store they have in Connecticut. They had those shoes in black and white but they added a cute buckle to them. I own a white pair.

  3. Audrey says:

    I too purchased them in DSW in brown with the cute buckle, back in December. I recently went back to buy them in black and their no longer available, so I googled Vertan, but no luck. DSW online doesn’t have them either … still searching.

  4. Nan says:

    i just bought black with the buckle YESTERDAY at DSW! I got another style with the same sole but with a wheat color cross strap. Very cute for summer!

  5. angela says:

    I am on my feet 10-12 hours a day and love these shoes with the buckle.
    DSW still has some here in Florida… Ha ha.

  6. onesnap says:

    I found this brand by accident tonight at DSW. What a joy to find shoes that are made in Italy and affordable! They are so comfortable. DSW had several in this brand. They go with dress pants, skirts, dresses and even jeans. My husband will be so amazed that I found a shoe for once not made in China!

  7. Melissa says:

    Me too. I live in these shoes. I have a brown pair and a white pair. Already starting to get paranoid that they won’t have them when these wear out. They are the best shoes I’ve ever owned.

  8. beth says:

    Wow!!!I found the Vertan club…Who knew???…I found them at least three years ago (discount store) and they’re still going strong!!!I was hoping to find the brand in a fall, winter shoe. Can you imagine feeling this comfortable in a heel all year long????? Any clues???

  9. Lisa says:

    I found a cute pair of strappy Vertan sandals with a similar heal to the one pictured about 4 years ago. They are also the most comfortable shoes I have found in years. I have worn them every summer, all summer long and they barely look worn! These shoes are amazing – I am always on the lookout for this brand. Mine were bought at a DSW in Connecticut. I am also interested in winter shoes and boots by this company if anyone has any information.

    Another very comfortable shoe is Clarks which found in North Carolina about 5 or 6 years ago. They are not quite as stylish, though.

  10. Melissa says:

    I have the SAME shoes that are in your photo. I have been trying to hunt down more of these shoes on the web and so far no luck. I bought mine at DSW in PA about 1 yr ago and am always amazed at how I can spend a whole day in them and not be in pain. Please Vertan, please pease please make more shoes! Every time I spend a miserable day in another brand of shoes, I have to retreat back to my Vertan shoes for a week while my butchered feet recover.

    Also, I found out (on the web) that the parent manufacturer name is Ilani.

  11. Rene' says:

    found an e-mail address dated in 04 to rep from Vertan at a shoe convention. I looked up the roster and found this:
    Jennifer Ruiz (212) 947 5830 jruiz@ilanishoes.com. I e-mailed her and told her she has a following and we want MORE vertan shoes. Lets get a campaign going. If any one can find a recent e-maila ddress. The key was to type in:brazil Vertan. Not Italy! they are made in Brazil

  12. Rene' says:

    New update! I found the address of the company. 1350 Broadway Ste 1608 New york, NY 10018-0964 last updated May of 07. I am from Kansas. One of you New Yorkers walk in there and find a source to purchase! Thank you!

  13. laura says:

    I don’t know if anybody will even read this, because the last entry is May 2009. Anyway, I was doing an inventory of my boots today and found a brand new pair of black suede low-heeled knee high boots way in the back of my closet. I tried them on and felt like I was in heaven! They were Vertans, and they are as gorgeous as they are comfortable! I can’t believe I hadn’t worn them for the last two seasons, as I bought them 2 yrs. ago at DSW ( in San Antonio). I felt as though I was walking on air! I, as most of you wrote, want more! I feel extremely lucky that I’ll be able to enjoy these boots this fall/winter. It was like finding a hidden treasure! Too bad they’re so hard to find. Are they even still in business?

  14. Ruby says:

    Ive had a pair of Vertan boots for about 6 yrs now and they are just so comfy I wear them even when its not winter. They are so stylish and I get compliments on the every time I wear them.

  15. Mimi says:

    i have been wearing my vertan boots since the beginning of the winter and looooooove them. my daughther found them at lohmans on sale for $15, bought them, but they were too big for her. i put them on and it was heaven. it usually takes me months to find boots for me, because i have a very high arch and wide foot. did anyone find a way to get those shoes on-line? or are they even available now? tried to google, but the only ones i could find were short booties at dsw.

Leave a Reply

