Why Working at Home Isn’t All that Great, Or, Oh, How I Miss Bagel Day

I’m trying to work, but the wireless connection is running as efficiently as the New York DMV….

So I decide to dig out the wired-network wire and plug it into the laptop….

Then I notice the dog’s back-up “pee papers” need replacing. Fan-freaking-tastic. I fold them up precariously, and head to the kitchen trash.

But it’s full. So I close the trashbag up and pull it out of the trashcan…And get leaky mysterious trash juice all over me, because the bag has ripped…And the bottom of the trashcan is full of mystery trash juice, too. (I ponder: Is there anything more gross?)

I let out a loud sigh, shudder disgustedly, and search for paper towels and disinfectants.

I clean out the trash can, and get out two more trashbags — one to put in the trashcan, and one to double-bag the leaky trashbag…since it will be a couple more hours before the trashmen show up, and we don’t have a place to stow the trash in the interim (trash removal in Mexico City: always complicated)…and I don’t want to deal with any more trash juice, so I decide to use extra plastic, and say screw you, Mother Nature.

I then wash my hands thoroughly, put down more dog papers, find the yellow cord, plug it into the laptop…And ten oh-so-inefficient minutes later, resume working.

3 thoughts on “Why Working at Home Isn’t All that Great, Or, Oh, How I Miss Bagel Day

  1. Joy says:

    Good question Andy! Mostly because she works just two days a week, so I take out the trash when she’s not here.

    There was a time, not so long ago, when I didn’t have a maid. It’s no way to live.

Leave a Reply

