Another Mexico City Bargain: Gorgeous Hand-Blown Glassware

Recently purchased: 6 cocktail glasses (second photo), 6 drinking glasses (first photo), one large margarita pitcher (first photo) and 6 glass stirrers (both photos. Yes, that’s a whale. And a calla lily).

Total cost: $30 USD.

Margarita pitcher

Drink pictured here? Sotol-mango-pineapple smoothie. Joy’s own special adult beverage creation.

blue hand-blown glass mexico

Drink pictured here? Sotol and diet grapefruit soda. A Brendan creation, I think, mas o menos.

9 thoughts on “Another Mexico City Bargain: Gorgeous Hand-Blown Glassware

  1. DKN says:

    *drool*

    Mmmm….I need to get another bottle of tequila so i can make those trailer park margaritas – tequila, diet squirt, with a splash of OJ – but I really liked the splash of grapefruit, too. I’ve been thinking about those…isn’t fresca an option for mixing with those, too?

  2. mmalan says:

    They’re beautiful–definitely one of his all-time excellent gifts! Margaritas all around in Danburrah this summer!!

  3. Joy Tesei says:

    Hi Joy,

    I was reading your blog and saw your pics of the glasses and pitchers you got at the fantastic bargain price of $30USD. If you wouldn’t mind, I’d love to know where you found them. Thanks in advance.

    Best to you,
    Joy Tesei

  4. Joy says:

    Hi Joy — great name! I got them at La Cuidadela — the big huge arts/crafts market near Balderas metro stop. They have many colors/style there.

  5. Julie says:

    Hola Joy,

    Those glasses are incredibly beautiful! I’d love to find some like yours, but I’m pretty far from there right now! 😉

    Thanks for your comments in my blog. I’ll add your blog to my Links if you don’t mind, to share your nice info to my friends and visitors.

    I don’t know of any good hotel in Isla Mujeres. When I went 7 years ago as a backpacker, I stayed in a cheap one, Hotel Las Palmas, in front of the market (around 170 pesos per room, okay but without AC and water pressure). I guess you’re looking for a greater hotel than that! 😉 I’ll be staying at the Grand Oasis Cancun from June 20-28, but as I don’t really like staying at only one place I want to go back to Tulum and Isla Mujeres for one-day trips.

    Where are you established right now? Do you know Puebla? I’ve been living there for almost 1 year a few years ago and I really miss it.

    Have a great evening Joy!

Leave a Reply

