If You See Chiles en Nogada on the Menu, ORDER IT

Is this not a most beautiful platter of food?

Chiles en Nogada, by Flickr user El Imaginario

Chiles en Nogada, by Flickr user El Imaginario

I FINALLY had it this weekend, at Restaurante El Cardenal. After an appetizer of delicious tacos de pato (duck tacos) this arrived on my table, and after one bite, I couldn’t stop talking about it. Do you know how delicious this is? I asked my lunchmates between bites. OMG, you have no idea how good this is. Wow, omg.

The recipe is as complicated as it looks, but essentially, chiles en nogada is a spicy pork-potato-raisin-and-other-fruits casserole stuffed into a poblano chile, topped with an almond (or walnut) cream sauce, and a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds (the dish would not be complete without the seeds — that final burst of sweetness after the spicy pork? Oh yeah.)

The dish represents the flag of Mexico. And I thoroughly devoured my flag.

11 thoughts on “If You See Chiles en Nogada on the Menu, ORDER IT

  1. Mr Bob says:

    Why do you constantly put digitized food in front of me?

    It’s like listening to ABBA’s music and then trying to get it out of your mind.

  2. Geoff says:

    I’ve just eaten and that’s made me hungry again already. I’m off to Mexico for a couple of months next year and I am seriously looking forward to the food more than anything else.

  3. jubati says:

    You must to say to all, this dish is prepared specialy in august and september, when is the period of pomegranate and when the independence day is near for us, you cant eat chiles en nogada in other time of the year.

  4. Sylvie says:

    I’ve also only had this dish in season but it is SO worth it. The food alone is reason enough to travel to Mexico. Fresh, creative, colorful, exploding with flavor and usually ridiculously affordable.

Leave a Reply

