Photos: Sailing to Islas Las Marietas, Mexico

I wish I could say I was on THIS sailboat. No, sadly, I was on a giant booze cruise boat.

I wish I could say I was on THIS sailboat. No, sadly, I was on a giant booze cruise boat.

Islas Las Marietas are a group of three small federally protected islands off the coast of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Several species of endangered birds live there, and the marine life is abundant. When the conditions are right, the snorkeling is excellent.

In other words, it’s a Joy sort of place.

I booked us a tour through Vallarta Adventures to Las Marietas, falsely assuming the boat was like they promise: a catamaran sailboat. Wrong! It was one notch above a booze cruise: Ninety people stuffed onto a platform-style boat, forced to listen to “I Will Survive” by Donna Summer while Julio the tour guide randomly grabs people and dances with him as he tells not-hilarious jokes about Mexico (“the sharks love tourists!”)

My advice if you want to visit Marietas?

Don’t choose Vallarta Adventures.

So, anyway, no, I didn’t get to experience a relaxing day sailing at sea, but I at least got to see the Marietas up close. With 90 other people. And “Thriller” blaring in the background…*frowning*

The trip took about an hour from Vallarta. Here's the islands from far away.

The trip took about an hour from Vallarta. Here is the main island way off in the distance.

Getting closer.

We pass one island, head to another.

Many birds call this home.

Many birds call this home.

The snorkeling area before 90 of us jumped in and started slamming into each other.

Snorkeling area before 90 of us jumped in and started slamming into one another.

So, now that you've seen the islands, this was the scene on board. Drunk tourists dancing.

So, now that you have seen the islands, this was my view when I turned around in my seat to see what was happening on board. Peaceful, isn't it?

4 thoughts on “Photos: Sailing to Islas Las Marietas, Mexico

  1. YayaOrchid says:

    I can almost hear the guy in the long sleeve brown shirt doing his dance moves to ‘Thriller’, LOL! It looks like everyone else was having fun behind you, Joy! You should’ve joined in on the fun 🙂

  2. Betty Victory says:

    Too bad about the stuffed booze boat. Not much luck with that. Still, those are nice pictures. The caves with all the birds are interesting– almost like bat caves.

    I will never forget the wonderfully uncrowded boat you set up for us to take around Manhatten. Now, that was lucky!!!

  3. cyndi says:

    Nice photos of Las Marietas. We are leaving for Decameron in Bucerias on Sat., Sept. 26 and would be interested in seeing these islands. So if not for the booze cruise, how WOULD one get to Las Marietas?

Leave a Reply

