Joy Goes to Zumba Class: ‘Exercise that’s a Party’

Zumba is basically Latin Dance aerobics. Cumbia, salsa, calypso, reggaeton, and some hip-hop/jazz/disco moves, too. I never twisted my torso so much in one hour. It was FUN!

Fortunately, I was not the lame gringa, and was able to keep up with my peers in class. And everyone was sweating and panting. But one profound difference between me and my Mexican dancemates? They stay tan, and I turn red. I kept joking “estoy como un jitomate!!!” so they didn’t worry that I was going to pass out in the middle of a back-step.

For a more visual explanation, watch this video. (I love the Midwestern accents in this “Today Show” profile of zumba — hilarious to yo, who attends zumba class in Mexico and must keep up with all the espanol!).

And here’s just a straight up workout (that’s bilingual! yay!), if you’d like to give it a try…(I struggled most with the spinny move they do at 1 min 40 seconds into the video.)

One thought on “Joy Goes to Zumba Class: ‘Exercise that’s a Party’

Leave a Reply

