Do You Like My Sugar Skulls?

Sugar skulls for sale in Toluca, Mexico.

Sugar skulls for sale in Toluca, Mexico.

For the second year in a row, I visited the fantabulous Alfenique (sugar skull market) in Toluca, Mexico. This weekend I had the pleasure of going with a great group of friends — all of whom we’ve met only in the past year! Because of my extensive *cough* experience with Alfenique (I went for four hours last year), I played Tour Guide to Toluca. It’s a job I could get into, especially this time of year.

Enough about us, though, the market is the true star. Candy vendors from all over Central Mexico set up booths for Dia de los Muertos goodies, from ornate sugar skulls to chocolate lollipops. You can get high blood sugar just by walking the aisles of the mercado. I, of course, heard the call of the sweet tooth and started snacking while shopping.  It was all over when my friend Dyana convinced me to try a coffee-cup-sized marshmallow dipped in milk chocolate and nuts: Death never seemed so tasty.

Ah, Mexico. Never fails to make for a good set of photographs. Let’s take a look!

Little figurines of soccer players -- post-life.

Little figurines of soccer players -- post-life.

Caterpillars made of marzipan. Cutest insect art ever.

Caterpillars made of marzipan. Cutest insect art ever.

Katrina dolls for sale.

Catrina dolls for sale. "Total divas," my new friend Ryan said.

Little figures of various professions are for sale. Including table dancers.

Little figures of various professions are for sale. Including table dancers. She's the one on the right with the pole - in reality, a nail -- between her legs.

This man is literally surrounded by sugar.

This man is literally surrounded by sugar. My favorite new candy -- giant chocolate-covered marshmallows -- are to the right below the basket of cookies.

An older woman checks out some skulls for sale.

An older woman checks out some skulls for sale.

Dyana, Katrina, Me and Alisa.

Dyana, Catrina, Me and Alisa.

12 thoughts on “Do You Like My Sugar Skulls?

  1. Julie says:

    I love the pics! Is there a good website to find more details on Alfenique? Or maybe you can tell me exactly where it is in Toluca? I would love to go check it out! 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying Vegas!!

  2. Debra says:

    Love your pictures. I would like to know more about the fair, what dates/days it begins and ends. Where would be a good place to stay (area) in Toluca? I have tried to do some research on the net, but I have not found any in regards to this coming year Oct 2010. Thanks, Debra

Leave a Reply

