The Election Scene in Mexico City

Erik, Uncle Sam, me and Jesica celebrate.

Erik, Uncle Sam, me and Jesica celebrate.

Last night I attended a giant election night party at the Camino Real Hotel in Mexico City, thrown by the U.S. Embassy. I had no idea what to expect before the party, but it definitely surpassed all my expectations — except for one thing: the crowd wasn’t very excited.

Perhaps because only moments before the important poll results starting coming in, a small jet crashed over Reforma, one of Mexico City’s main avenues. It killed two top government officials, plus about six more people. It left behind general mayhem, snarling traffic as people called in reporting seeing “body parts in the streets.” Yeah, not exactly something to put you in a celebratory mood. Also, it meant my better half had to leave the party (as soon as we arrived) to go into the office to work on the story.

Thankfully, I now know a few Americans, so I made the best of it sin esposo. I wore a stupid hat and dressed in red, blue and white. I was friends Jesica and Erik’s third wheel, and we went downstairs to have delicious tacos de pato y margaritas (it truly is amazing I don’t weigh 840 pounds living in this incredibly culinary-inclined country) after we realized the Embassy party food was bland hamburgers and hot dogs. I met new blogger friend Julie, who is as funny in person as she is on her blog. And, best of all, it was great to see Obama get elected; I am most of all proud that Americans can see past skin color and vote based on factors that really matter. It was satisfying watching McCain/Palin walk off stage (and they did it very gracefully, I’ve got to hand it to them). However, as I told a TV reporter who interviewed me (in English), Obama and the new Democratic Congress is inheriting a huge mess – a terrible, ill-prepared war and a frighteningly erratic economy. There’s no way I’d take the job.

The general scene at the Mexico City Election Night party.

The general scene at the Mexico City Election Night party.

Erik and Jesica try to console a sad McCain.

Erik and Jesica try to console a sad McCain.

We share a toast with our new President. (Well, technically just my president, since Jesica is Mexican - but I'm sure Obama welcomes her support).

We congratulate our new President. (Well, technically just my president, since Jesica is Mexican - but I'm sure Obama welcomes her support).

One thought on “The Election Scene in Mexico City

  1. DKN says:

    Yay! But I’m so sorry to hear about the plane crash! That’s terrible! 😦

    We had a good time last night. I went to Adam’s who really went all out and hung signs all over his apartment for our celebratory get-together. My favorite sign hung on the front door, it said something like…”Extreme Liberalism at work inside – Enter at your own risk!” LOL.

    It was truly a beautiful moment, overall, even McCain’s speech smacked of determination to do his best to aid Obama in leading us in the right direction. It was funny – I couldn’t help but note how many times his audience booed whenever he said the name “Obama”…yet when Obama said the name “McCain” in his acceptance speech, his crowd cheered. That pretty much summed up the tone of the entire campaign.

Leave a Reply

