A First for Me: Going to the (Mexican) Circus

circo

One of the cool things about having (and somehow keeping) friends in Mexico City is you get invited to do things you’d ordinarily never do as a tourist or alienated ex-pat. Case in point: Attend Circo Atayde Hermanos, a 120-year old circus in Mexico, with friend Richard, whose family owns the circus.

the soil shakes, and so do you, all the time.

I suppose this is what an earthquake feels like?

Along with the usual circus acts (animals, namely: elephants, horses, camels and llamas) and trapeze artists/magicians/clowns, Circo Atayde had a nice Latino flair to it, like a guy on stilts dressed in drag as Carmen Miranda, and a slew of macho-yet-hairless Argentinian gaucho performers. A clown also did a dead-on impression of easy-to-mock but utterly fabulous Vicente Fernandez.

Beause this gaucho looked like Captain Picard, and hates cigarettes, he was my favorite act of the night.

This gaucho looked like Star Trek's Captain Picard, and could lasso away a cigarette, meaning, yes: he was my favorite act of the night.

Richard asked us: So when was the last time you went to the circus? For him, it was literally last week — he goes all the time, since he has “circus privileges.” For me, though, I couldn’t recall. Besides daily life in Mexico, the most circus-like event I attended as an adult was probably the Moscow Cats Theater, where yes, cats perform, on stage. (As has been said by others before me: It was “30 minutes of tricks packed into 90 minutes.”)

The circus in Mexico, however, is quite the opposite — blink and you’ll miss something fun.

4 thoughts on “A First for Me: Going to the (Mexican) Circus

  1. Betty Victory says:

    Such a glam picture! The circus sounds muy interesante. you should have included a little picure of Carmen Miranda–for those who don’t know who she is. My friends and I loved trying to dress up and imitate her when we were little.

  2. a random authentic mexican says:

    circo atayde… every year my dad got free tickets from his company… it was a yearly tradition going to the Arena Mexico…

  3. RUMI  HOISODA says:

    I AM A  JAPANESE。。。。NAME OF RUMI
    I  WAS  WORKING MEXICO SURCUS  ATAIDE。。。I WAS WORKING WITH
    ELEPHANT NEME OF TANIYA>>>I MISS HIM SO MUCH。

  4. Joe Guerra says:

    I am trying to find out more about a circus that traveled through northern Mexico in the 1920-30s called Circo Markin. Can anyone point me in a direction to find more info? A great uncle of mine, Romulo Buenrostro traveled with that circus and married the tight rope walker Elvira. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

