Found: A Foot Massager Slash Taxi Driver

This fresa gigante is so happy because he's dipped in chocolate.
This fresa gigante is so happy because he's dipped in chocolate.

Last Friday I went to The Chocolate Experience trade show with my friend Lesley, who just moved here on Wednesday.

The “experience” was great — lots of chocolate and posing with giant strawberries dipped in chocolate.

After the event, I walked Lesley to the taxi stand outside of the massive World Trade Center, and dropped her off so she could take a taxi straight home to her corporate housing in Polanco. I took the Metrobus home to Condesa.

For some reason, though, I felt nervous about the taxi. Perhaps because it was Lesley’s third day in Mexico, or perhaps because the taxi that pulled up for her didn’t look as official as I thought it should. So once I got home, I emailed her — everything OK?

Yes, she said. But the taxi ride was “interesting.”

Indeed: Somehow, on only her third day in Mexico, Lesley managed to get a foot massage from her cab driver.

10 responses to “Found: A Foot Massager Slash Taxi Driver”

  1. I assume your spanish is more than up to speed to catch the inevitable –

    “Como que tu amiga se ve medio fresona, la verdad…” comment 🙂

  2. I didn’t know Lesley went with you….. The huh refers to a foot massage by a taxi driver. The two just don’t seem to go together! Can you imagine that happening in NYC?

  3. No, certainly not! Nor anywhere. I just think it’s funny b/c most “taxi stories” in Mexico involve crime! I never would have guessed this would happen.

  4. Was his name Raul? I met him a couple of years ago. My feet have never felt better….

  5. Did he do the massage while he was driving ?

  6. What a great story! And how courageous Lesley is! Wow…

  7. Hi Joy, wow, I would have been very worried as well. Glad you called and she was ok.
    How does she like living here so far?

  8. Another great post. I’ve just added your blog to my favorites in StumbleUpon.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.