My Dear Amigos, I Heart You

John is from Missouri, so we forgive him for this behavior.

John is from Missouri, so we forgive him for this behavior.

Texas…Mexico…Minnesota…and of course, New York…it’s so great to have fantastic friends where ever we go!

Eileen shows off her sleek new haircut. Connie can't resist going in for a hug.

Eileen shows off her sleek new haircut. Connie can't resist going in for a hug.

Thanks to Connie for this beautiful set of photographs during my trip to New York City last week. There’s nothing quite so comforting and relaxing as hanging out with the ones you love.

Dora's boyfriend is from the Bronx, as if this isn't obvious already! *wink*

Dora's boyfriend is from the Bronx, as if this isn't obvious already! *wink*

I managed to scribble down a few funny things we said while drinking wine and enjoying John’s spicy boiled shrimp:

  • On John’s next recipe (inspired by a trip to Martha’s Country Bakery), he declared he would try making “shrimp cupcakes, hush puppy style.”
  • “Do I unsheath the Bigfoot?” – John contemplating his high school job at Pizza Hut, which involved tempting situations at the trash dumpster as he stood there, throwing out two-foot-long pizzas.
  • “My name is Dora” — The chorus for the rap video we’re going to film inside Mohammed’s bodega near Dora’s house.
  • Somehow, discussions between Brenda, Dora and me always come back to David Bowie in the film “The Labyrinth“. (And a video for the truly addicted)
  • “Well, this has Charlie puke on it” — Dora looking for a blanket when the couch potatoes got cold.
  • Stephanie’s sea sponge <– warning: a link that’s not for the faint of heart. Seriously.
  • And the winner goes to…..ADAM:

  • On Spa Castle, while directing a flaky cab driver: “It’s the building with the hand of god pointing at it.”

4 thoughts on “My Dear Amigos, I Heart You

  1. emily says:

    You remind me of the babe
    What babe? the babe with the power
    What power? power of voodoo
    Who do? you do
    Do what? remind me of the baby
    I saw my baby, crying hard as babe could cry
    What could I do?
    My baby’s love had gone
    And left my baby blue
    Nobody knew:

  2. Tere says:

    Aww, missed you around here now I know why. It sounds as if you had a blast and are a bit homesick Joy, Schedule another visit soon. Going home is such fun.
    Tere

Leave a Reply

