Proof We South Texans Don’t Take Ourselves Too Seriously

I just spent a week in my ancestral homelands of Corpus Christi, Texas. We celebrated Christmas…meaning we drank a lot of margaritas and ate a lot of tamales.

I capped off my week  at a magnificent waterfront home out on Padre Island, owned by family friends Rebecca and James. Every year, Toys for Tots and island residents get together to hold the La Posada Boat Parade. Little baby boats all the way up to monster yachts bling themselves out in Christmas lights. It’s really fun, except when the boat riders throw out candy and most of it lands in the water.

The challenge, for spectators, is photographing the boats. My camera basically wigs out under such abnormal conditions. But my parents and I managed to get a few good photos of our very holy, spiritual revelry.

After this photo was taken, a boat passed by and the captain shouted "That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen." (I'm proud of that fact!)

After we took this photo, a boat came by and the captain said "that's the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen." Also, the guy in the white rocking chair -- he drank more champagne in one night than I have in my entire life.

Just like the three wise men!

My Dad, who is a teetotaler most days, was in charge of making grapefruit 'ritas.

This is a boat, with lights strung up in the shape of a martini glass -- with an olive. There was also a couple of fake drunk people hanging off the glass (I think they were paper mache).

One of the more modest boats of the evening. The eerie green glow is not the holy spirit, but underwater fishing lights that Texans put there because they attract fish. Before you ask, Texans do stop short of shooting the fish -- we use fishing poles like most people.

A flamingo -- doesn't it just scream Silent Night, Holy Night? All Is Good, All Is Right, or however the heck it goes.

This is how most of my photos turned out, and it wasn't just because of all the tequila I consumed.

Yes, children, Santa wears sunglasses at night, and travels on a boat named "Cuz We Can."

I was hoping this one was going to dock at the house, and Brendan would pop out with a bottle of champagne and shout "Merry Christmas, I bought you a yacht!" But, no.

On an unrelated note but no less merry note, my Dad has been making lots of progress on his restoration of a 1926 Oldsmobile.

One thought on “Proof We South Texans Don’t Take Ourselves Too Seriously

Leave a Reply

