Mexican Internet Ads: How Dumb Do They Think We Are?

Few of us enjoy internet advertising, though, as an internet editor, I directly benefit from the industry.

However, you truly haven’t seen annoying advertising until you’ve lived in Mexico, where the display ads almost seem to be competing for title of “craptacularly crappy.”

If I may bore you for a second, part of the reason is because of the unreliable mail system. If you can’t trust the mail, then you can’t go shopping online, because your stuff may never get delivered. And if there’s no substantial online commerce, then there’s no resulting advertising worth a damn.

So, that means yours truly is forced to see this shit all day. (Each ad asks you: Is this image real or fake?)

"Human-Dog Hybrid: Is this image real or fake?"

The largest tongue in the world: Real or fake?

A boy with a big mouth: Real or fake?

4 thoughts on “Mexican Internet Ads: How Dumb Do They Think We Are?

  1. Bob says:

    These are american ads. I’ve seen them all in sites like weather dot com, the huffington post, and all sorts of blogs. They are just translated to Spanish, but the ads are the same and, believe me, they are not Mexican. Just click on one of them and you’ll see for yourself.

    Bob

  2. Joy says:

    Really? The only time I see them is when I’m in Mexico….oy vey. Either way, I just can’t believe these ads make money for someone (cause there’s no way I’m clicking on them!)

  3. dregina says:

    I’ve seen the first and last of those three too. They are STUPID. But what I hate the most is all the teeth whitening ads, especially the one that shows a tweezer near a mouth holding a tooth. I have to close my eyes when I see that one. (Marathon Man traumatized me.)

  4. Gilly Bates says:

    If you use Firefox as your browser, and install the free ‘Adblock plus’ addon then subscribe (free) to ‘Easylist USA’ you will never have to see another Internet ad.

Leave a Reply

