Doing the Misty Mountain Hop in Palenque, Chiapas

First, I recommend pressing play on this video before you read my post:

Alrighty then, although I didn’t have flowers in my hair when I toured the ancient Mayan site of Palenque, in the Mexican state of Chiapas, I was walking in the park and saw crowds of people sitting on the pyramids, tripping out on all the beauty of this magical place. It’s spectacular, well worth the journey and expense of schlepping it to the far Southeast corner of Central Mexico….

Palacio de las Inscripciones, where treasures are still being found, like Mayan death masks.

The site is huge, and you can climb on all sorts of structures.

The humidity meant I had an awesome hair day. (I'm one of those insane people who like it muggy.)

The lush greenery surrounds Palenque's temples and structures.

After the Mayans fled Palenque, nature quickly took over, making excavation impossible in some areas. Here, a tree has rooted itself in the ruins.

Brendan ascends one of the many passageways located within the temples.

The right side of this temple reveals what it looked like pre-excavation. Brendan is in the lower right corner of this photo.

Limestone carving, still intact.

I stuck my camera through one of the many "windows" of the government palace.

A fresco (a dude holding a torch).

Although it rains almost every day of the year here, the Mayan gods blessed us with simply a foggy, dark day, so that it wasn't blazing hot. Howler monkeys (no, not pictured above!) could be heard in the near distance.

Someone found a home in one of the ancient temples.

And now that you’ve seen some of my photos, here’s a really cheesy video I took. I’m new to videolandia, and so, bear with me:

3 thoughts on “Doing the Misty Mountain Hop in Palenque, Chiapas

  1. Gloris says:

    Greetings from the Midwest. Thanks for the temple ruins tour. I came across your blog last September when you commented on another blog, a New York tribute post on Sept. 11th. Anyway, I must have liked what I saw on your blog, ’cause I saved it in my “favorite blogs” folder. I just came across it today and thought I’d stop by for a peek. Glad I did. I love blogs like this. It’s like geograpy come to life. I homeschool, so I showed today’s post to my son. Well, God bless you down south. Gloris

Leave a Reply

