Eeeek! It’s Mine!

A few months ago, several of my friends and I visited the Maker’s Market in Socrates Sculpture Park in Astoria, Queens. The weekend-long event is basically a high-end arts-and-crafts fair for some of New York City’s best artists. While most of the merchandise was a little too fancy for my taste, one jeweler’s booth gave me pause, as I spotted a shiny, detailed, large stingray charm hanging from a silver necklace. I was tempted to buy it, but ultimately didn’t as it seemed a little pricey. While it’s common to see dolphin or starfish in jewelry design, the stingray is an overlooked beautifully designed creature that looks great casted in silver.

Instead , I went home and thought about the necklace for months, even searching on Etsy.com to see what other similar pieces I might find for a better price. Nothing came up that compared to the original, which is not surprising considering the caliber of artists at Maker’s Market. These people are some of the top designers in the world. So, I emailed my husband about my secret desire for the stingray necklace, and then decided to forget about it.

But, bam, on the eve of our fourth wedding anniversary (yesterday), he handed me a box containing the gorgeous necklace. What an amazing gift! We’re normally not a sentimental couple — I bought my own wedding ring and all  and that was fine by me — so it was such a fun surprise to get this incredible piece of jewelry.

7 thoughts on “Eeeek! It’s Mine!

  1. DKN says:

    OMG! Christ, this just made me cry! Yay!! I know how much you love it, I practically had to drag you away from it at the market. Brendan’s the best. 🙂

  2. Betty Victory says:

    You are a wonderful couple, indeed. So many memories and travels you have had in such a short time!!

    I know you will wear that stingray with distinct pleasure!! So very lovely……..

  3. Betty Victory says:

    Tomorrow is your parents 42nd anniversary. I received a beautiful bouquet of deep red roses and purple alstroemeria with fern.

Leave a Reply

