My New and Homemade Kindle Cover

I spent the last week at my parents’ house in Texas. My father, ever the engineer, and my mother, ever the creative, helped me construct a new-but-old cover for my Kindle.

I’ve had my Kindle for a couple months now, and the screen already has a couple of little scratches on it – yikes! But I thought paying $60 plus for an Amazon-approved cover was a little ridiculous. So, I Googled around and found a way to use an old book. I went to the awesome Half-Price Bookstores in Corpus Christi (one of the few progressive places in town) and deemed the $1 “Eyes of Texas Travel Guide: Panhandle & Plains Edition” the right size to protect my precious e-reader.

To make the cover, I used a $1.50 exacto knife to slice out the pages. Meanwhile, my Dad used the panel from another book to serve as support for the elastic straps that hold the Kindle in. He sawed in holes for two diagonal side strips across the top, and one wide strap across the middle. We then secured strips of $1.39 black elastic to the back of the support board with epoxy. And then epoxied the board to the cover. My Dad also woodcut two small pieces for the bottom, which support the Kindle and also keep the Kindle protected from getting squashed when the cover is closed. See the photos if this isn’t making much sense!

My Mom then found some old material I could use to cover the bare, ragged binding. I cut and hot glued the material down, making sure to keep it loose enough to open the cover all the way, folding it under itself like a magazine.

After letting the epoxy dry, my cover was ready for use. I’m now loving it as I leave my beloved Texas and fly home to NYC.

If I were to do this again, I would probably coordinate all the colors better and use less epoxy. And move the lower tabs to make it easier to access the on/off switch. The cover looks pretty homemade, but that’s OK with me, as it was a labor of love and teamwork. And it cost $5.

(P.S. – this entire post was created using my Droid phone and the terrific WordPress app while I waited for my plane.)

image
image

(See another WordPress.com blogger’s nifty duct tape Kindle cover idea, too!)

50 thoughts on “My New and Homemade Kindle Cover

  1. thatsagirlscar says:

    Aww, man…as someone with a Master’s degree in Library Science who specialized in Preservation Administration, it always hurts a bit to see an old book demolished. BUT I commend you for doing a fantastic job with the cover, and for transforming a book that — let’s face it — no one was probably going to read into a lovely, usable piece of art. Thanks for sharing how you did it, as well as the great pictures!

  2. hstutzman says:

    And, the best part is that no one will know it houses your sweet kindle. No thief’s ever going to want to steal an old book about the Texas panhandle–mwa, ha, ha! Awesome sneakiness!

  3. K. Nerkledove says:

    Oh my gosh, for the past week, I’ve been trying to figure out how to take an embroidery I made and turn it into a Kindle cover or a slip for a cover. This is perfect; I can’t wait to try it!!!

  4. dianekolberg says:

    I love the concept of old and WAY new! And really the irony of it! I love it! I don’t have a kindle yet, but when I do….oh, could it be done with an ipad too? Why not?! How fun!

  5. Evie Garone says:

    What a great “green” crafty idea! I LOVE it! I’ve been thinking of getting one of those “new fangled” things! Ha, Ha! Just have to get myself psyched up to have no more physical books in my hands, not ready for the plunge yet! Good job!

  6. sara says:

    Oh man. That is awesome. I’ve had my Kindle for about 6 months now (I JUST missed the release of K3…darn!) and I still don’t have a case for it yet. Terrible, I know. Right now I have a case from Amazon on my wishlist for Christmas, but I think it’d be so much cooler to make my own. Thanks for sharing your experience and ideas. 🙂

  7. cegrundler says:

    That is GREAT! I especially love the choice of the book you used and the inside fabric; that adds to the charm. I’ve done several DIY Kindle covers (I have the steps for them on my blog as well) and I’ve found 3M Command Strips make a perfect way to secure the Kindle inside without needing elastic, but make it removable as well.

    Well done!

  8. capoesperanza says:

    Great Idea! I lived in CC for two years and absolutely loved the Half Priced Books store there! a Great place to browse, sit on a couch, enjoy a non-starbucks latte adn converse with friends. ‘ Local McKays in Northern VA has NO character!

  9. Michelle says:

    Wow, that’s great! Think it would work for something small like a video/mp3 player? I think I’ll give it a try. Thanks for the instructions that look easy enough even for me! 🙂

  10. S. says:

    Very cute and creative, I love what you did with the interior 🙂 I myself hollowed out an old Danish book entitled “Fishing in the Persian Gulf” that has a pretty rad cover. It’s not that great, though, I just pack it in the square and keep it in the foot of a stocking for now to prevent scratches. Looking forward to revamping it when I get a chance, and I’m doubly inspired by the post!

  11. Mike Wallace says:

    Great idea. My GF has a Kindle and she got a hot pink cover from Amazon too. I’ll make my own cover so when I need to borrow her Kindle, I’ll just switch it out to a more manly cover.

  12. David says:

    I think this is so cool. I didn’t buy one of those expensive amazon covers for my Kindle 3 either. I went on ebay and found one for 17 bucks but I like your idea. Functional and good protection for so cheap. That is awesome.

  13. Rachel Jay says:

    What a wonderful idea! I have a Nook, and a great travel case, but have yet to find a case I like for everyday use (I bought one with a giftcard that has a little lamp built in, but the lamp broke, I’m too lazy to fix it, and it was cumbersome to hold). I was thinking maybe I’d just figure out a way to make something with some scrap fabric, but I love the idea of using an old book! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  14. Betty Victory says:

    Wow, people thanks for all the comments and compliments. Also, all the suggestions to make it even better!! onward and upward!! When you get a chance–google Taylor Pie with Eben Wood–they make some awesome music!

  15. Shannon says:

    Wow – this is so cool! Exactly the DIY project I was hoping someone out there had done – thanks for posting about this. Off to assemble materials for making this as a gift!!

    Cheers!

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

