The Homesick Texan = Me

So apparently I’ve been a little too melodramatic  — me, melodramatic?  — about the cold weather and six (!!!) recent snowstorms that have buried New York City in layers of snow, garbage, snow and then more garbage (and the occasional dead body).

My friends told me this weekend (in a joking tone, of course!) that they have contemplated staging a  “Joy winter intervention.” They don’t need to go that far: All I want is a little empathy. Try being a girl from South Texas, where on every day of the year, it’s normally one of the warmest places in the nation. Where, this weekend, people were at the beach in sandals, sipping cold beer and finding it altogether unfathomable to contemplate snow piled upon garbage piled upon snow.

Where, on weather maps, it’s almost always glowing orange-red, a fireball of warm, delicious heat — in a galaxy far, far, faaaaar away from any terrifying sub-freezing purple, or heaven forbid, dark pink.

Of course, the frente frio that swept the upper-half of the United States today did dip down into Texas’ nether regions, bringing down the temps to a less balmy 55. Time to put on a jacket and real shoes before you go walk on the beach!

 

10 thoughts on “The Homesick Texan = Me

  1. Meg says:

    Sorry the cold, snow, and “wintry mix” is bumming you out so much, Joy. Wintry mix is my least favorite kind of winter precipitation. My hope is that this severe winter weather will make spring even sweeter. Last summer really tried my patience with the seemingly unending 90+ degree days in NYC, I have to admit.

    That all being said, I do find myself daydreaming of warm SoCal winters, where I spent much of my teen years to early 20s. I miss the beaches there so much – the Pacific is my favorite big body of water in the world. The warm sand, salt air, and sounds of seagulls is just awesome. I also have strong memories of the smell of sage and chaparral in the high desert, which has its own magic this time of year.

    Hope you get a chance to go somewhere warm soon, too. 🙂

  2. danar says:

    I think people are genetically predisposed to either prefer heat or cold, winter or summer, and that’s all there is to it. My last “real” winter was brutally cold – we had a 3 1/2 week period where the *warmest* it ever got was 12. 12!! I made up my mind to move to Texas during the time every morning I had to spend standing outside, scraping ice off my windshield before work. I have never regretted bailing on winter, but I meet people here who are brought to the exact same emotional state by the never ending heat in the summer, so there you have it – some people do heat better, some people do cold better, and it stinks to be in the wrong climate for your temperment.

    That being said, you will enjoy your summer a lot more up there than we will down here. It’s already Feb, not too much longer to go!

  3. Betty Victory says:

    From the Weather Channel – Corpus Christi forcast for this Thursday – still beats NYC winters! will be 70º by week end. – dad

    Thursday
    Cloudy. A 20 percent chance of light rain and light sleet in the afternoon. Breezy. Highs in the upper 30s. North winds 15 to 25 mph decreasing to 10 to 20 mph in the afternoon.

    Thursday Night
    Light freezing rain…light snow and light sleet likely. Light snow accumulations. Lows in the upper 20s. Chance of precipitation 70 percent.

  4. nancy says:

    That’s insane weather, Joy. Does the sun shine at least? Gray skies + winter weather is the worst. It’s bitter cold in Austin today, but the sun is shining bright. Sending you a virtual cup of hot chocolate from Coyoacan’s El Jarocho. : )

Leave a Reply

