Goodbye, Uncle Steven

This weekend my family gathered in Corpus Christi, Texas, to remember the life of my uncle Steven. He survived so much in life – most notably a gunshot wound to the head at close range when he was in his early 20s – but ultimately colon cancer was his chief nemesis, which also took my grandmother’s life. They are now resting near each other, both free from the immense pain cancer causes. I will never forget the way he communicated with the world, using his own phrases and finger spelling at lightning speed with my aunt Martha (equally amazing person), who then translated what Steven was trying to say. The world lost a unique form of human expression and language when we lost Steven. I have so many good memories of Steven, even though his life was cut short at the age of 54.

Steven, gentle giant, biker hippie, the sweetest uncle a niece can have, I will miss you.

20120116-084535.jpg

9 thoughts on “Goodbye, Uncle Steven

  1. yoyomar says:

    Joy, I just read this and watched your father’s photo tribute to Steven and I’m sitting here with tears running down my face. Steven and his family are such amazing people. Our hearts are with you all.

  2. nancyflores says:

    So sorry for your loss, Joy. It sounds like he was an amazing person who will not be forgotten. Sending you virtual *hugs*

  3. Maria Ramos says:

    Hi Joy, you don’t know me. You may have met my husband, Aaron Ramos, at the funeral. I love what you wrote about Uncle Steven. It was true, eloquent and powerful. I met Steven in 2002 when Aaron and I were married. He and Martha have been so dear to us over the years…never forgetting a birthday, visiting us as we moved around the U.S. with the military. Aaron told me of summers spent with Martha and Steven in Austin during his childhood. My three sons call him “Santa” because of his beard and the times he wore a Santa hat on the holidays. May he rest in peace.

  4. Betty Victory says:

    Thank you Joy, for the sweetest of tributes to my brother-in-law who totally felt like a real little(?) brother. Er, I should say younger brother who persevered through so many physical and mental obstacles. His memory will always be with me.

  5. Martha says:

    Oh Joy, that is the most beautiful tribute. Thank you so much for writing this. I have forwarded it to many friends. You have expressed so eloquently the love we all have for Steven. Whenever I feel sad, I will be able to come back and read your beautiful words, which give me great comfort.

Leave a Reply

