Fat, Fluffy and Happy: American Goldfinch Enjoying Spring Weather

This guy/gal was enjoying the young red maple shoots this morning. I am having a hard time identifying it, but it’s probably the relatively common American Goldfinch in his obese winter form. He’s shaped more like a Common Yellowthroat, but he has stripes on his wings, which is more finch-y.

goldfinch

I just love spring so much. The birds are great today, and this little guy was happy to pose for me.

goldfinch landing on a tree

"Coming in for a landing!"

"Am I adorable or am I adorable?"

goldfinch

"Wait, this is my good side."

 

One thought on “Fat, Fluffy and Happy: American Goldfinch Enjoying Spring Weather

Leave a Reply

