Check out my lush, flowing lion’s mane

image

My lion’s mane mushroom, that is. What a wonderful world this is, where mushrooms can look like a dreamy Arctic landscape, but get named after a majestic mega-fauna’s manly neck hair, and receive acclaim for enhancing mental prowess when consumed…it’s amazing. Roarrrrr. To top it off, the Japanese name is the spectacular word “yamabushitake.”

I knew none of this when I found this thing growing on our property, of course, only that it was trippy and I needed to immediately take a photo and furiously google the googs until I found out what it was.

Bingo: lion’s mane mushroom. Dreamy. And useful. And pretty.

image

image

Leave a Reply

