Oh yes! I went to Oregon. And whoamygawd, beautiful.

22771254174_5ac84bcd67_c

Seagulls that mean business in Manzanita, Oregon

I’m belated in sharing photos from my first-ever visit to Oregon (and my third-ever to Washington) over Thanksgiving week. But it’s still very much on my wittle nature-starved New York mind, and not just because I can add a more Northern beach to my favorite life list.

The first thing: THE freshiest-fresh FOOD/BOOZE. My god it was easy to find good seafood and exceptional adult beverages. (Although I might die of gout and liver failure before I’m 40, I could easily live off a diet of Pacific oysters, Oregon Pinot Noir and Tillamook cheese.)

The other thing: THE NATURE! For that, let’s skip the words and go straight to the purty:

A festive (and fat) red-bellied sapsucker giving me the stare down.

A festive (and fat) red-bellied sapsucker giving me the stare down at our Port Orchard, Wash., Airbnb.

Mossy moss moss.

Mossy moss moss on everything, so much clean good oxygen for my New York-stained lungs.

DSC_0234

We pulled in from Astoria, Oregon to Cannon Beach with just seconds of daylight left. Ever the geek, I jumped out of the car and ran in a panicked state to the beach to get this shot.

A five-milk hike to the end of of the point at Cape Lookout State Park on Thanksgiving Day will go down as the most beautiful hike of my life (thus far).

DSC_0294

One of the zillions of lovely clifftop views at Cape Lookout.

At Cape Lookout, I happily traded in turkey and stuffing for ancient, moss-covered old-growth forest and eagle’s-nest-sized ferns shooting out of every semi-fertile surface, made more sublime by sunlight bouncing off the undulating, deep blue Pacific Ocean.

To top it off, we even hung out with WHALES feeding just offshore–so close to us that we could hear them exhaling.

Not my best whale photo -- ironically, the closest I've been to a humpback whale is in New York Harbor -- but this is proof I frolicked with whales while hiking in Oregon on Thanksgiving Day.

Not my best whale photo — ironically, the closest I’ve been to a humpback whale is here at home near the New York Harbor — but you know what? I don’t care.

DSC_0247

We also hiked straight up this big ole bump ah’ land, known more officially as Neahkahnie Viewpoint. It was great, but no whales.

I’ll be back!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oh yes! I went to Oregon. And whoamygawd, beautiful.

Leave a Reply

