Feisty Northern Mockingbird will stare you down, and you will lose

On a recent trip to Corpus Christi,  I noticed a very non-shy bird flitting about my parents’ backyard, ambivalent to our presence. I grabbed my Dad’s Nikon and mega-zoom lens and waited for a good shot.

The bird, a Northern Mockingbird, cocked his head as soon as I started snapping away.

Who’s that? Someone entering my territory? And taking my picture? Ohnoshedidnt.

Texas mockingbird on fence with bougainvillea

He got close, really close. And he stared me down, menacingly. Those yellow eyes! That intimidating frown.

DSC_0141

YOU WIN!

Version 2

One thought on “Feisty Northern Mockingbird will stare you down, and you will lose

  1. Ed from Texas says:

    More than a few years back at the sculpture garden of the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, there was a mockingbird that would swoop down and hit the heads of visitors as they would enter and exit the garden. You got off lucky with just a menacing stare!

Leave a Reply

